top of page
Menu 6
Crise

From today's crisis will emerge a Church that has lost much . It will become small and will have to start again more or less from the beginnings. She will no longer be able to inhabit most of the buildings she had built during her prosperity. And as the number of her faithful will decrease, she will also lose a large part of the social privileges ... but despite all these changes that one can presume, the Church will find again and with all the energy what is essential to her , which has always been its center: faith in the One and Trinitarian God, in Jesus Christ, the Son of God made man, with the Holy Spirit who assists us until the end of time. It will reappear through small groups, movements and a minority who will put faith and prayer at the center of their life and will again experience the sacraments as divine service and not as a problem of liturgical structure . It will be a more spiritual Church, which will not arrogate to itself a political mandate flirting here with the left and there with the right. She will do this with difficulty. In fact, the process of crystallization and clarification will make her poor, make her become a Church of the little ones , the process will be long and painful ... but after the trial of its divisions, from an internalized and simplified church will emerge a great one. strength.

36596354_1685723114858914_76540833415781

Gustav Klimt, ′ ′ Flower Garden ", 1906.

Men who will live in a totally programmed world will experience indescribable solitude. If they have completely lost their sense of God, they will feel the full horror of their poverty. And then they will discover the small community of believers as something totally new: they will discover it as a hope for themselves, the answer they had always sought in secret … It seems certain to me that very difficult times are happening. to prepare for the Church. His real crisis has barely begun. It must settle accounts with great upheavals. But I am also quite sure of what will remain in the end: not the Church of political worship… but the Church of faith. It is certain that it will no longer be the dominant social force insofar as it was until a short time ago. But the Church will experience a new flowering and will appear as the house of man, where to find life and hope beyond death ”.

 

Joseph Ratzinger, “Faith and the Future”, Paris, Mame, 1971

Remèdes
AdobeStock_195229289.jpeg

Cardinal Martini: The Last Interview

Published in Corriere della Sera of September 1, 2012 Translation, Anne Soupa.

 

CCBF

This interview is the testament of Cardinal Martini. Many of us these days are discovering - or rediscovering - how much Monsignor Martini is an authentic and great servant of the Lord. The path of his life follows the central furrow of the Gospel: listening to the Word of God; in all circumstances, give primacy to love; integrate rather than exclude; work tirelessly on your own conversion ...

 

Interview made by Father Georg Sporschill, sj and Federica Racine :

How do you see the situation of the Church?

“The Church is tired, in well-being Europe and in America. Our culture has aged, our Churches are large, our religious houses are empty and the bureaucratic apparatus of the Church is increasing, our rites and our clothes become mired in pomp. And yet all this says something about what we have become […] Well-being weighs… We are like the rich young man who sadly left when Jesus called him to be his disciple. I know very well that we cannot leave everything we have with a lapel of the sleeve. However, we could try to remain free human beings like Bishop Romero and the Jesuit martyrs of El Salvador were. Where are the heroes among us from whom we could draw inspiration? Under no circumstances should the chains of the institution hold us back and limit our actions. "

 

Who can help the Church today?

 

“Father Karl Rahner liked to use the image of the embers hiding under the ashes. I see in the Church today so much ashes on the embers that a strong feeling of helplessness often rises in me. How to free the embers of all this ash that hides it, in order to rekindle the flame of love? Before anything else, we must seek out this embers. Where are generous souls like the good Samaritan? Who has the faith of the Roman centurion? Who has the enthusiasm of John the Baptist? Who has the daring of novelty like Paul? Who is faithful like Mary of Magdala? I advise the Pope and the bishops to seek twelve people off the beaten track to place them in decisive places. Human beings who are close to the poorest, surrounded by young people and ready to experience the new. We need a dialogue with people with a burning heart, so that the Spirit can spread everywhere ”.

What are the means of fighting against the fatigue of the Church?

 

“I recommend three very powerful ones. The first is conversion : the Church must recognize her errors and must walk a radical path of change, starting with the Pope and the bishops. The scandals of pedophilia push us to embark on a path of conversion. The questions on sexuality and on all topics related to bodily realities are an example. These are important to everyone and even, sometimes they become too important, to the point that one should wonder if people still listen to the advice of the Church on sexual matters. In this area, is the Church still a benchmark authority or only a caricature for the media? The second way is the Word of God . Vatican Council II returned the Bible to Catholics. […] Only the one who perceives this Word in his heart will participate in the rebirth of the Church and will know how to respond with discernment to the questions that will be put to him. The Word of God is simple and it seeks as a companion a heart that listens […]. Neither the clergy nor canon law can substitute for human interiority. All the external rules, the laws, the dogmas are given to us to enlighten the conscience and to help in the discernment of the spirits.

 

Who are the sacraments for?

 

This is the third remedy towards healing. The sacraments are not an instrument of discipline, but a help for all those who walk and are tested during their life. Do we carry the sacraments to those who are in search of new strength? I am thinking of all divorced people, blended couples, extended families. They need special protection. The Church supports the indissolubility of marriage. It is a grace when a marriage and a family succeed […]. Our attitude towards extended families will determine the coming together of the generation of sons to the Church. Has a woman been abandoned by her husband and does she find a new companion who takes care of her and her three sons? This second love succeeds. Let this family be discriminated against, and contact will be lost, not only with the mother but even with her sons. If parents feel like strangers in the Church or do not feel supported, the Church will lose the next generation. Before Communion, we pray: “Lord, I am not worthy…”. But who knows if he is worthy? […] Love is grace. Love is a gift. The question of access to communion for divorced and remarried should be able to be overcome.

 

How can the Church find a way to give sacramental support to those in complex family situations? What are you doing personally?

 

“The Church is two hundred years behind. How come she doesn't move? Are we afraid? Are we lacking in courage? In any case, faith is the foundation of the Church. Faith, confidence, courage. I, who am old and sick, depend on the help of others. The good people around me make me perceive something of the Love. This love is stronger than the feeling of mistrust that from time to time I perceive in the behavior of the Church in Europe. Only love triumphs over weariness. God is love. I have one last question to ask you: what can you do for the Church? "

Église domestique
AdobeStock_138144620.jpeg

Containment revealed "some spiritual illiteracy"

considers Bishop Grech

Published on 10/15/20 in Aleteia

"Spiritual illiteracy", "clericalism", "immature faith", Mgr Mario Grech, new secretary general of the Synod of Bishops, takes a very critical look at the attitude of many Catholics during the Covid-19 crisis, in a long interview granted to the Civiltà Cattolica, published on October 14, 2020. For him, the Church must learn from confinement by changing its “pastoral models” and rehabilitating the “domestic Church”.

The former president of the Bishops' Conference of Malta from 2013 to 2016 was appointed in October 2019 under-secretary general of the Synod of Bishops and then secretary in September. As such, he is notably charged by Pope Francis with the preparation of the synod on synodality which should be held in 2022. “During the pandemic, a certain clericalism appeared. [On social networks], we have witnessed a certain degree of exhibitionism and pietism which is more a matter of magic than of the expression of a mature faith ”, laments Bishop Grech in the interview given to Civiltà Cattolica . The Maltese bishop describes a Church which has not always been up to the occasion and which has been torn apart over the question of the impossibility of accessing the sacraments.

“Some have even said that the life of the Church has been interrupted! And it's really amazing. In the situation which prevented the celebration of the sacraments, we did not realize that there were other ways of experiencing God, ”he regrets, adding that the fact“ that many priests and lay people have entered into crisis because we suddenly found ourselves in the situation of not being able to celebrate the Eucharist coram populo is in itself very significant ”.

Going even further, he finds it “curious that many people have complained that they cannot receive Communion and celebrate funerals in church, but not so much as they have worried about how to be reconciled to God and neighbor, to listen to and celebrate the Word of God and to live a life of service ”.

"The Eucharist is not the only possibility that a Christian has to meet Jesus"

Recalling however that the Eucharist is the “source and summit of Christian life”, Bishop Grech nevertheless underlines that it is not the only possibility available to Christians to meet Jesus. And to quote Paul VI who taught that “in the Eucharist, the presence of Christ is“ real ”, not by exclusion, as if the others were not“ real ””.

For the prelate, it is therefore “worrying that someone feels lost outside the Eucharistic context”. This shows “an ignorance of other ways of engaging in the mystery”, “a certain spiritual illiteracy”, but also “that the current pastoral practice is inadequate”.

 

He then analyzes it as being "very probable that, in the recent past, our pastoral activity has sought to lead to the sacraments and not to lead - through the sacraments - to the Christian life".

"A suicide if, after the pandemic, we return to the same pastoral models"

In the wake of Pope Francis, the new secretary general of the Synod of Bishops, believes that the coronavirus pandemic must become an opportunity for the Church and offer it "a moment of renewal". “It will be suicide if, after the pandemic, we return to the same pastoral models that we have practiced so far,” he says.

 

Moreover, the crisis made it possible, according to him, to discover "a new ecclesiology, perhaps even a new theology, and a new ministry". First, she confirmed that service to the sick and the poor was an effective way for Christians to live their faith and “to reflect a Church present in today's world, and no longer a“ sacristy Church ”. , withdrawn from the streets, or content to project the sacristy into the street ”.

 

Then, confinement should allow families to seize their vocation and develop their own “potential”. He affirms in this sense that the crisis must lead to “rehabilitating the domestic Church and giving it more space”. “Living the Church within our families” constitutes, for the Maltese bishop, a “valid premise of the new evangelization”. He insists: “If the domestic Church fails, the Church cannot exist. If there is no domestic Church, the Church has no future! ".

 

The domestic Church, victim of historical clericalism?

The former bishop of Gozo (Malta) believes that this notion of the domestic Church, however highlighted by the Second Vatican Council, was undoubtedly the victim of perverse clericalism. He traces this "negative turn" in the conception of the domestic Church to the fourth century, "when the sacralization of priests and bishops took place, to the detriment of the common priesthood of baptism"., According to him, "the more the The institutionalization of the Church progressed, the more the nature and charisma of the family as a domestic Church diminished ”.

 

In the end, if “many are still not convinced” of the evangelizing charism of the family and of its “missionary creativity”, Bishop Grech is convinced of the contrary. The spouses are "capable of finding a new theological-catechetical language for the proclamation of the Gospel of the family". And to quote Pope Francis: "God has entrusted to the family not the responsibility of privacy as an end in itself, but the exciting project of making the world 'domestic'".

bottom of page

« De la crise d’aujourd’hui émergera une Église qui aura perdu beaucoup. Elle deviendra petite et devra repartir plus ou moins des débuts. Elle ne sera plus en mesure d’habiter la plupart des édifices qu’elle avait construits au temps de sa prospérité. Et étant donné que le nombre de ses fidèles diminuera, elle perdra aussi une grande partie des privilèges sociaux… mais malgré tous ces changements que l’on peut présumer, l’Église trouvera de nouveau et avec toute l’énergie ce qui lui est essentiel, ce qui a toujours été son centre : la foi en Dieu Un et Trinitaire, en Jésus-Christ, le Fils de Dieu fait homme, avec l’Esprit Saint qui nous assiste jusqu’à la fin des temps.Elle ressurgira par les petits groupes, les mouvements et une minorité qui remettra la foi et la prière au centre de leur vie et expérimentera de nouveau les sacrements comme service divin et non comme un problème de structure liturgique. Ce sera une Église plus spirituelle, qui ne s’arrogera pas un mandat politique flirtant de-ci avec la gauche et de-là avec la droite. Elle fera cela avec difficulté. En fait, le processus de la cristallisation et de la clarification la rendra pauvre, la fera devenir une Église des petits, le processus sera long et pénible… mais après l’épreuve de ses divisions, d’une église intériorisée et simplifiée sortira une grande force.

Gustav Klimt, ′′ Jardin des fleurs ", 1906.

Les hommes qui vivront dans un monde totalement programmé vivront une solitude indicible. S’ils ont perdu complètement le sens de Dieu, ils ressentiront toute l’horreur de leur pauvreté. Et ils découvriront alors la petite communauté des croyants comme quelque chose de totalement nouveau : ils le découvriront comme une espérance pour eux-mêmes, la réponse qu’ils avaient toujours cherchée en secret… Il me semble certain que des temps très difficiles sont en train de se préparer pour l’Église. Sa vraie crise est à peine commencée. Elle doit régler ses comptes avec de grands bouleversements. Mais je suis aussi tout à fait sûr de ce qui restera à la fin : non l’Église du culte politique… mais l’Église de la foi. C’est sûr qu’elle ne sera plus la force sociale dominante dans la mesure où elle l’était jusqu’il y a peu de temps. Mais l’Église connaîtra une nouvelle floraison et apparaîtra comme la maison de l’homme, où trouver vie et espérance au-delà de la mort ».

Joseph Ratzinger, « Foi et Avenir », Paris, Mame, 1971

 
AdobeStock_195229289.jpeg

Cardinal Martini : La dernière interview

Paru dans le Corriere della Sera du 1er septembre 2012 Traduction, Anne Soupa.

CCBF

Cette interview est le testament du cardinal Martini. Nous sommes nombreux, ces jours-ci, à découvrir – ou à redécouvrir — combien Monseigneur Martini est un authentique et grand serviteur du Seigneur. Le chemin de sa vie suit le sillon central de l’Évangile : écouter la Parole de Dieu ; en toutes circonstances, donner le primat à l’amour ; intégrer plutôt qu’exclure ; travailler sans relâche à sa propre conversion… 

 

Interview faite par le père Georg Sporschill, s.j. et Federica Racine : 

Comment voyez-vous la situation de l’Église ? 

« L’Église est fatiguée, dans l’Europe du bien-être et en Amérique. Notre culture a vieilli, nos Églises sont grandes, nos maisons religieuses sont vides et l’appareil bureaucratique de l’Église s’accroît, nos rites et nos vêtements s’engluent dans la pompe. Et pourtant, tout ceci, dit quelque chose de ce que nous sommes devenus […] Le bien-être pèse… Nous ressemblons au jeune homme riche qui s’en alla tristement lorsque Jésus l’appela pour en faire son disciple. Je sais fort bien que nous ne pouvons pas laisser tout ce que nous possédons d’un revers de manche. Cependant, nous pourrions essayer de rester des êtres humains libres comme l’ont été l’évêque Romero et les martyrs jésuites du Salvador. Où sont-ils, parmi nous, les héros dont nous pourrions nous inspirer ? Sous aucun motif, les chaînes de l’institution ne doivent nous retenir et limiter nos actes. » 

 

Qui peut aider l’Église aujourd’hui ? 

 

« Le père Karl Rahner employait volontiers l’image de la braise qui se cache sous la cendre. Je vois dans l’Église d’aujourd’hui tant de cendre sur la braise que souvent monte en moi un vif sentiment d’impuissance. Comment libérer la braise de toute cette cendre qui la cache, afin de raviver la flamme de l’amour ? Avant tout autre chose, nous devons rechercher cette braise. Où sont les âmes généreuses comme le bon Samaritain ? Qui a la foi du centurion romain ? Qui a l’enthousiasme de Jean le Baptise ? Qui a l’audace de la nouveauté comme Paul ? Qui est fidèle comme Marie de Magdala ? Je conseille au Pape et aux évêques de chercher douze personnes hors des sentiers battus pour les placer en des lieux décisifs. Des êtres humains qui soient proches des plus pauvres, entourés de jeunes et prêts à l’expérience de la nouveauté. Nous avons besoin d’un dialogue avec des êtres au cœur brûlant, de sorte que l’Esprit puisse se répandre partout ». 

Quels sont les moyens de lutter contre la fatigue de l’Église ? 

 

« J’en conseille trois très puissants. Le premier est la conversion : l’Église doit reconnaître ses erreurs et doit parcourir un chemin radical de changement, en commençant par le Pape et les évêques. Les scandales de la pédophilie nous poussent à entreprendre un chemin de conversion. Les questions sur la sexualité et sur tous les thèmes en lien avec les réalités corporelles sont un exemple. Ceux-ci sont importants pour chacun et même, ils le deviennent parfois trop, au point qu’il faudrait se demander si les gens écoutent encore les conseils de l’Église en matière sexuelle. En ce domaine, l’Église est-elle encore une autorité de référence ou seulement une caricature pour les médias ? Le second moyen est la Parole de Dieu. Le Concile Vatican II a rendu la Bible aux catholiques. […] Seul celui qui perçoit dans son coeur cette Parole participera à la renaissance de l’Église et saura répondre avec discernement aux questions qui lui seront posées. La Parole de Dieu est simple et elle cherche pour compagnon un coeur qui écoute […]. Ni le clergé ni le droit canon ne peuvent se substituer à l’intériorité humaine. Toutes les règles extérieures, les lois, les dogmes nous sont donnés pour éclairer la conscience et aider au discernement des esprits.

 

Pour qui sont les sacrements ?

 

Voilà le troisième remède vers la guérison. Les sacrements ne sont pas un instrument de discipline, mais une aide pour tous ceux qui cheminent et sont éprouvés au cours de leur vie. Portons-nous les sacrements à ceux qui sont en quête de forces nouvelles ? Je pense à tous les divorcés, aux couples reconstitués, aux familles élargies. Ils ont besoin d’une protection spéciale. L’Église soutient l’indissolubilité du mariage. C’est une grâce lorsqu’un mariage et une famille réussissent […]. L’attitude que nous aurons envers les familles élargies déterminera le rapprochement à l’Église de la génération des fils. Une femme a-t-elle été abandonnée par son mari et trouve-t-elle un nouveau compagnon qui s’occupe d’elle et de ses trois fils ? Ce second amour réussit. Que cette famille soit discriminée, et le contact sera perdu, non seulement avec la mère mais même avec ses fils. Si les parents se sentent étrangers dans l’Église ou ne se sentent pas soutenus, l’Église perdra la génération future. Avant la communion, nous prions : « Seigneur, je ne suis pas digne… ». Mais qui sait s’il est digne ? […] L’amour est grâce. L’amour est don. La question de l’accès à la communion des divorcés remariés devrait pouvoir être surmontée.

 

Comment l’Église peut-elle trouver le moyen donner un soutien sacramentel à ceux qui sont dans des situations de famille complexes ? » Vous, que faites-vous personnellement ? 

 

« L’Église est restée deux cents ans en arrière. Comment se fait-il qu’elle ne bouge pas ? Avons-nous peur ? Manquons-nous de courage ? De toutes façons, la foi est le fondement de l’Église. La foi, la confiance, le courage. Moi qui suis vieux et malade, je dépends de l’aide d’autrui. Les personnes bonnes qui m’entourent me font percevoir quelque chose de l’Amour. Cet amour est plus fort que le sentiment de défiance que de temps en temps je perçois dans les comportements de l’Église en Europe. Seul l’amour triomphe de la lassitude. Dieu est Amour. Il me reste une dernière question à te poser : que peux-tu faire pour l’Église ? »

 
AdobeStock_138144620.jpeg

Le confinement a révélé "un certain analphabétisme spirituel"

estime Mgr Grech 

Publié le 15/10/20 dans Aleteia 

"Analphabétisme spirituel", "cléricalisme", "foi immature", Mgr Mario Grech, nouveau secrétaire général du Synode des évêques, porte un regard très critique sur l’attitude de nombreux catholiques durant la crise du Covid-19, dans un long entretien accordé à la Civiltà Cattolica, paru le 14 octobre 2020. Pour lui, l’Église doit tirer les enseignements du confinement en changeant ses « modèles pastoraux » et en réhabilitant « l’Église domestique ».

L’ancien président de la Conférence épiscopale de Malte de 2013 à 2016 avait été nommé en octobre 2019 sous-secrétaire général du Synode des évêques puis secrétaire en septembre dernier. À ce titre, il est notamment chargé par le pape François de la préparation du synode sur la synodalité qui devrait se tenir en 2022. « Pendant la pandémie, un certain cléricalisme est apparu. [Sur les réseaux sociaux], nous avons assisté à un certain degré d’exhibitionnisme et de piétisme qui relève davantage de la magie que de l’expression d’une foi mature », déplore Mgr Grech dans l’interview accordée à la Civiltà Cattolica. L’évêque maltais y décrit une Église qui n’a pas toujours été à la hauteur de l’événement et qui s’est déchirée sur la question de l’impossibilité d’accéder aux sacrements.

« Certains ont même dit que la vie de l’Église a été interrompue ! Et c’est vraiment incroyable. Dans la situation qui a empêché la célébration des sacrements, nous n’avons pas réalisé qu’il y avait d’autres façons de faire l’expérience de Dieu », regrette-t-il, ajoutant que le fait « que beaucoup de prêtres et de laïcs soient entrés en crise parce que nous nous sommes soudainement retrouvés dans la situation de ne pas pouvoir célébrer l’Eucharistie coram populo est en soi très significatif ».

Allant plus loin encore, il juge « curieux que beaucoup de gens se soient plaints de ne pas pouvoir recevoir la communion et célébrer les funérailles à l’église, mais pas autant qu’ils se sont préoccupés de la manière de se réconcilier avec Dieu et le prochain, d’écouter et de célébrer la Parole de Dieu et de vivre une vie de service ».

« L’Eucharistie n’est pas la seule possibilité dont dispose le chrétien pour rencontrer Jésus »

Rappelant toutefois que l’Eucharistie est la « source et le sommet de la vie chrétienne », Mgr Grech souligne néanmoins qu’elle n’est pas la seule possibilité dont dispose le chrétien pour rencontrer Jésus. Et de citer Paul VI qui enseignait que « dans l’Eucharistie, la présence du Christ est “réelle”, non par exclusion, comme si les autres n’étaient pas “réelles” ».

Pour le prélat, il est donc « préoccupant que quelqu’un se sente perdu en dehors du contexte eucharistique ». Cela montre « une ignorance des autres façons de s’engager dans le mystère », « un certain analphabétisme spirituel », mais aussi « que la pratique pastorale actuelle est inadaptée ».

 

Il analyse alors comme étant « très probable que, dans un passé récent, notre activité pastorale ait cherché à conduire aux sacrements et non à conduire – par les sacrements – à la vie chrétienne ».

« Un suicide si, après la pandémie, nous revenons aux mêmes modèles pastoraux »

Dans le sillage du pape François, le nouveau secrétaire général du Synode des évêques, estime que la pandémie de coronavirus doit devenir une opportunité pour l’Église et lui offrir "un moment de renouveau".  « Ce sera un suicide si, après la pandémie, nous revenons aux mêmes modèles pastoraux que ceux que nous avons pratiqués jusqu’à présent », affirme-t-il.

 

D’ailleurs, la crise a permis, selon lui, de découvrir « une nouvelle ecclésiologie, peut-être même une nouvelle théologie, et un nouveau ministère ». D’abord, elle a confirmé que le service aux malades et aux pauvres était un moyen efficace pour les chrétiens de vivre leur foi et « de refléter une Église présente dans le monde d’aujourd’hui, et non plus une “Église sacristie”, retirée des rues, ou se contentant de projeter la sacristie dans la rue ».

 

Ensuite, le confinement devait permettre aux familles de saisir leur vocation et développer leur propre “potentiel”. Il affirme en ce sens que la crise doit conduire à « réhabiliter l’Église domestique et lui donner plus d’espace ». « Vivre l’Église au sein de nos familles » constitue, pour l’évêque maltais, un « prémisse valable de la nouvelle évangélisation ». Il insiste : « si l’Église domestique échoue, l’Église ne peut pas exister. S’il n’y a pas d’Église domestique, l’Église n’a pas d’avenir ! ».

 

L’Église domestique, victime d’un cléricalisme historique ?

L’ancien évêque de Gozo (Malte) estime que cette notion d’Église domestique, pourtant mise en valeur par le Concile Vatican II, a sans doute été la victime d’un cléricalisme pervers. Il fait remonter ce « tournant négatif » de la conception de l’Église domestique au IVe siècle, « lorsque la sacralisation des prêtres et des évêques a eu lieu, au détriment du sacerdoce commun du baptême ».,Selon lui, plus l’institutionnalisation de l’Église progressait, plus la nature et le charisme de la famille en tant qu’Église domestique diminuaient.

 

Au final, si «beaucoup ne sont toujours pas convaincus» du charisme évangélisateur de la famille et de sa «créativité missionnaire», Mgr Grech est persuadé du contraire. Les époux sont « capables de trouver un nouveau langage théologico-catéchétique pour l’annonce de l’Évangile de la famille ». Et de citer le pape François: « Dieu a confié à la famille non pas la responsabilité de l’intimité comme une fin en soi, mais le projet passionnant de rendre le monde “domestique” ».