Untitled_edited.jpg

Lectio Divina by Pope Francis

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The 'Lectio Divina' consists in reading the Word of God within a moment of prayer to allow it to enlighten us and renew us.

This prayerful reading of the Bible is not separated from study to identify the central message of the text ; on the contrary, we must start from there, to seek to discover what this message itself says to our life. The spiritual reading of a text must start from its literal meaning . Otherwise, we will easily make the text say what is right, what serves to confirm his own decisions, what fits his own mental patterns. It would ultimately be to use something sacred to one's own advantage.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In the presence of God, in a calm reading of the text , it is good to ask oneself, for example: “Lord, what does this text say to me? What do you want to change in my life with this message? What bothers me about this text? Why am I not interested in this? ”Or:“ What appeals to me, what stimulates me in this Word? What attracts me? Why does this attract me? ”

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

When we try to listen to the Lord, it is normal to have temptations . One of them is simply to feel embarrassed or oppressed, and to close in on yourself; another very common temptation is to start thinking about what the text says to others, to avoid applying it to one's own life.

It also happens that we begin to look for excuses that allow the specific message of a text to be weakened. Other times, we remember that God demands too important a decision of us, which we are not yet in a position to make. This leads many people to lose the joy of meeting the Word, but it would mean forgetting that no one is more patient than God the Father, that no one understands and knows how to wait like him . It always invites us to take one more step, but it does not demand a full response if we have not yet walked the path that makes it possible. He just wants us to look sincerely at our existence and present it without pretense to his eyes, that we are willing to continue to grow, and that we ask him what we are not yet succeeding in achieving.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The great risk of today's world, with its multiple and overwhelming consumer offer, is an individualistic sadness that comes from the settled and stingy heart, from the sick search for superficial pleasures, from the isolated consciousness . When the interior life closes on its own interests, there is no more room for others, the poor no longer come in, we no longer listen to the voice of God, we no longer enjoy the sweet joy of his. love, the enthusiasm for doing good no longer flutters.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The joy of the gospel fills the hearts and the whole life of those who meet Jesus. Those who allow themselves to be saved by him are freed from sin, sadness, inner emptiness, isolation. With Jesus Christ joy is born and is always reborn.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

I invite every Christian, in whatever place and situation he finds himself, to renew his personal encounter with Jesus Christ today, or at least to make the decision to allow himself to be met by him, to seek him every day without cease.

It is only thanks to this encounter - or new encounter - with the love of God, which is converted into happy friendship, that we are delivered from our isolated consciousness and from self-reference. We come to be fully human when we are more than human, when we allow God to lead us beyond ourselves so that we come to our truest being. Therein lies the source of evangelizing action. Because, if someone has accepted this love which gives them back the meaning of life, how can they hold back the desire to communicate it to others?

Pope Francis

(The joy of the gospel)

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Lectio Divina du Pape François

La 'Lectio Divina’ consiste dans la lecture de la Parole de Dieu à l’intérieur d’un moment de prière pour lui permettre de nous illuminer et de nous renouveler.

Cette lecture orante de la Bible n’est pas séparée de l’étude pour identifier le message central du texte ; au contraire, on doit partir de là, pour chercher à découvrir ce que dit ce message lui-même à notre vie. La lecture spirituelle d’un texte doit partir de sa signification littérale. Autrement, on fera facilement dire au texte ce qui convient, ce qui sert pour confirmer ses propres décisions, ce qui s’adapte à ses propres schémas mentaux. Cela serait, en définitive, utiliser quelque chose de sacré à son propre avantage.

En présence de Dieu, dans une lecture calme du texte, il est bien de se demander par exemple : “Seigneur, qu’est-ce que ce texte me dit à moi ? Qu’est-ce que tu veux changer dans ma vie avec ce message ? Qu’est-ce qui m’ennuie dans ce texte ? Pourquoi cela ne m’intéresse-t-il pas ? ” ou : “ Qu’est-ce qui me plaît, qu’est-ce qui me stimule dans cette Parole ? Qu’est-ce qui m’attire ? Pourquoi est-ce que cela m’attire ? ”

Quand on cherche à écouter le Seigneur, il est normal d’avoir des tentations. Une d’elles est simplement de se sentir gêné ou oppressé, et de se fermer sur soi-même ; une autre tentation très commune est de commencer à penser à ce que le texte dit aux autres, pour éviter de l’appliquer à sa propre vie.

Il arrive aussi qu’on commence à chercher des excuses qui permettent d’affaiblir le message spécifique d’un texte. D’autres fois, on retient que Dieu exige de nous une décision trop importante, que nous ne sommes pas encore en mesure de prendre. Cela porte beaucoup de personnes à perdre la joie de la rencontre avec la Parole, mais cela voudrait dire oublier que personne n’est plus patient que Dieu le Père, que personne ne comprend et ne sait attendre comme lui. Il invite toujours à faire un pas de plus, mais il n’exige pas une réponse complète si nous n’avons pas encore parcouru le chemin qui la rend possible. Il désire simplement que nous regardions avec sincérité notre existence et que nous la présentions sans feinte à ses yeux, que nous soyons disposés à continuer de grandir, et que nous lui demandions ce que nous ne réussissons pas encore à obtenir.

Le grand risque du monde d’aujourd’hui, avec son offre de consommation multiple et écrasante, est une tristesse individualiste qui vient du cœur bien installé et avare, de la recherche malade de plaisirs superficiels, de la conscience isolée. Quand la vie intérieure se ferme sur ses propres intérêts, il n’y a plus de place pour les autres, les pauvres n’entrent plus, on n’écoute plus la voix de Dieu, on ne jouit plus de la douce joie de son amour, l’enthousiasme de faire le bien ne palpite plus.

La joie de l’Évangile remplit le cœur et toute la vie de ceux qui rencontrent Jésus. Ceux qui se laissent sauver par lui sont libérés du péché, de la tristesse, du vide intérieur, de l’isolement. Avec Jésus Christ la joie naît et renaît toujours.

J’invite chaque chrétien, en quelque lieu et situation où il se trouve, à renouveler aujourd’hui même sa rencontre personnelle avec Jésus Christ ou, au moins, à prendre la décision de se laisser rencontrer par lui, de le chercher chaque jour sans cesse.

C’est seulement grâce à cette rencontre – ou nouvelle rencontre – avec l’amour de Dieu, qui se convertit en heureuse amitié, que nous sommes délivrés de notre conscience isolée et de l’auto-référence. Nous parvenons à être pleinement humains quand nous sommes plus qu’humains, quand nous permettons à Dieu de nous conduire au-delà de nous-mêmes pour que nous parvenions à notre être le plus vrai. Là se trouve la source de l’action évangélisatrice. Parce que, si quelqu’un a accueilli cet amour qui lui redonne le sens de la vie, comment peut-il retenir le désir de le communiquer aux autres ?

Pape François

(La joie de l’Évangile)